While it’s obvious to someone when they’ve been blocked — because they can no longer find that user on the platform — it won’t be obvious when they’ve been restricted. They will see that user’s posts in their feed like they usually do. But they will no longer see when the user is online or has read their messages.
Will someone know if I restrict them on Instagram?
A restricted person will never know if they have been restricted. Everything appears normal on their end as they can still comment on your posts, send you messages, and view your profile like any other user.
What happens when I restrict someone on Instagram?
Restrict is a new privacy feature in Instagram. Once you restrict someone, their comments on your Instagram posts will only be visible to them (and not publicly). If you want, you can view their comment using the “See Comment” button.
How do you know if someone has you on restricted?
How can I tell if a friend has restricted me from seeing their posts? The only way you can tell for sure is to ask someone else if they can see any posts from that person. If they can see posts that you can’t, then you’ll know that person has blocked you from seeing their posts.
Is restrict the same as mute on Instagram?
In a nutshell, block restricts both the profiles. Meaning, neither you can view their posts nor can they. In mute, both the users can view the profiles, only limitation is that their posts won’t appear on your feed.
What can restricted followers see on Instagram?
When you restrict an Instagram account, they can continue seeing the stories you post, like anyone else. However, although they can respond to your story, they cannot see if you are online or if you have read the messages that they have sent you.
What is soft blocking on Instagram?
Soft blocking is when you block and immediately unblock another person. When you block someone, they’re automatically removed from your followers, but using the sneaky “soft block” technique means they won’t be met with an obvious “you’re blocked” notification the next time they visit your profile.
Are restricted accounts muted?
To tackle these potentially harmful issues which can take a serious toll on mental health, Instagram has rolled out a new feature called “Restrict”. It allows users to mute people on Instagram without blocking them.
What happens when you mute and restrict someone on Instagram?
The new feature lets you hide posts in feed from certain accounts, without unfollowing them. With this change, you can make your feed even more personalized to what matters to you. When you mute an account, you can still see posts on their profile page and get notified about comments or posts you’re tagged in.