When you block someone, you no longer exist for them and vice versa. It’s the harshest punishment you can give to someone on Facebook. It’s so strict that even you lose the power to view their profile. On the contrary, restricting someone is simply hiding your posts automatically from them.
What happens if you restrict someone on Facebook?
When you add someone to your Restricted list, you’ll still be friends with them on Facebook, but they’ll only be able to see your public information (example: your posts and profile info you choose to make public) and posts you tag them in.
How can you tell if someone has you on restricted on Facebook?
How can I tell if a friend has restricted me from seeing their posts? The only way you can tell for sure is to ask someone else if they can see any posts from that person. If they can see posts that you can’t, then you’ll know that person has blocked you from seeing their posts.
What is the difference between restrict and block?
Blocking someone prevents them from being able to comment on your posts. But when you restrict them, you can both comment on each other’s posts. The difference is that the comments made by the person you’ve restricted will only be visible to them and no one else.
How do I stop someone seeing my posts on Facebook without blocking them?
Here’s How to Stop Facebook Friends From Seeing Your Posts
- Step 1: Go the profile of the user you’d like to add to your Restricted List. …
- Step 2: Tap the “Friends” button under the user’s name.
- Step 3: Tap “Edit Friend Lists.”
- Step 4: Scroll to the bottom of the list, and tap “Restricted” to add a check mark to this row.
Can restricted friends comment on my posts?
When you ban someone from your Page, they’ll still be able to share content from your Page to other places on Facebook, but they’ll no longer be able to publish to your Page, like or comment on your Page’s posts, message your Page or like your Page.
What can Restricted friends see?
Restricted. People on the restricted list can see your public posts only. That means you can start to manage Friends on Facebook with greater subtlety, without getting quite so confused about all the other privacy settings and how they affect any other lists you create. Restricted always means public posts only.
How do you know if you are restricted?
While it’s obvious to someone when they’ve been blocked — because they can no longer find that user on the platform — it won’t be obvious when they’ve been restricted. They will see that user’s posts in their feed like they usually do. But they will no longer see when the user is online or has read their messages.
Can restricted friends see your story?
If you’ve placed someone on your Restricted list, they won’t be able to see your story.
Can someone block you from seeing their posts on Facebook?
Just click the button immediately to the left of the blue “Post” button when typing a status update. Just like using the Privacy Settings page, you can choose to block individual people from seeing the post using the “custom” option.
How do you block someone from seeing your story?
Tap in the top right, then tap Settings. Tap Privacy, then tap Story. Tap the number of people next to Hide Story From. Select the people you’d like to hide your story from, then tap Done (iPhone) or tap back in the top left (Android).
Does restricting someone on Instagram hide your posts?
When you restrict someone, they will be able to see your posts/stories, comment on it but it will be hidden from your profile. When you’re limiting contact or a follower, you’re just doing it for the sake of avoiding unwanted conversations which otherwise you had to face when you’re blocking someone.
Is restrict the same as mute on Instagram?
In a nutshell, block restricts both the profiles. Meaning, neither you can view their posts nor can they. In mute, both the users can view the profiles, only limitation is that their posts won’t appear on your feed.
Can I temporarily block someone on FB?
Facebook has rolled out a new “snooze” feature. If it’s not on your account yet, don’t worry, it’s coming. The feature lets you temporarily silence the people that are getting on your nerves.
What happens when you block someone on Facebook but you have mutual friends?
Facebook’s block feature does a good job of protecting your privacy. When you block someone, it doesn’t affect the content of your mutual friends. You’ll see their content but not the tags. The only time the posts of your mutual friends are hidden from you is when they post on the wall of the user that blocked you.