Every time you edit your Instagram post (after you’ve posted it), Instagram resets your engagement ranking. All the likes & comments you’ve received up to that point will reset and not count anymore. If you’ve hit top posts for any location or hashtag, you’ll be taken off top posts.
Does Instagram show if you edit a post?
it is just the caption that changes. it won’t appear as a new post as you have already uploaded the photo to your instagram feed. so it will not appear again. if you want it to reappear as a new post; simply delete the original photo, and re upload it with the new caption change.
Is it bad to edit Instagram posts?
Yes and No. If you edit the post’s caption too frequently after posting it (Like 3–5 times every hour), Instagram will decrease the reach of your post. If you edit the post caption just 1–2 times total, it won’t influence your reach. And if you edit the caption after 24 hours, it won’t decrease your reach too.
What happens when you edit a post?
Once a public post is edited, everyone will be able to see its revision history. Facebook Page authors and admins are also able to edit posts on a Page. Though anyone can see the post’s revision history after it was posted, only other authors and admins can see edits made before the post was published.
If You Edit Your Instagram Post, Does Instagram Repost It? … But once you edit your Instagram post, you lose the engagement momentum because Instagram resets your earned rate of engagement and it is impossible to take it back on top posts.
Is editing your Instagram post bad 2021?
Why You Shouldn’t Edit An Instagram Post
But every time you edit Instagram posts, the algorithm actually resets your engagement ranking! … All those people that Instagram was planning on showing it to, now they won’t. Despite how amazing the post it, this can totally destroy your engagement rate on Instagram.
Adding a hashtag to a post days, months or years later will not cause that post to show at the top of the hashtag feed for that post. When you hashtag after the fact, the post will be added to the hashtag feed, retroactively.
To edit posts, you’ll be able to click the down arrow in the top right of one of your posts and select ‘Edit Post’ to change the text, then click “Done Editing” as shown in this screenshot from Spencer Chen. Your revisions and original post will still be viewable if friends check your post’s edit history, though.