You may not be able to add someone as a friend if: They haven’t accepted your friend request yet. You may have already sent them a friend request. Check if the friend requests you’ve sent are still pending.
What is this? The “Add Friend” button is not showing on Facebook either because the user has restricted their privacy settings, they denied your friend request, or they marked it as spam. Facebook allows its users to control their privacy settings such as who can see your activity, and who can find/contact you.
If you don’t see the “Add as Friend” button, it’s because the person you’re trying to befriend has adjusted her privacy settings to block friend requests (see Chapter 14 for details). Fill out the confirmation box that appears and then click Send Request.
Why can’t I send a friend request to someone?
They Have Reached Their Friend Limit
There is actually a cap to how many friends you can have on Facebook. If someone has reached this 5000 friends limit, you will no longer be able to send them a friend request. … If you try to accept the request, Facebook will not add them to your friend list or you to theirs.
Why is add friend greyed out?
If you’ve tried to add them and they’ve denied the request, Facebook can remove the option for you to be able to add them again by greying out the add friend button. They may have their settings that only people with mutual friends can add them, and if you have none then the button will appear greyed out.”
Why did a friend request disappear?
The person who sent the friend request may have deleted the request. You may have already denied the friend request. The person who sent the friend request may have deactivated their account after sending the request.
How do you know if someone declined your friend request on Facebook?
Look at the gray button next to the person’s name. If the button reads “Friend Request Sent,” the person has not yet accepted or declined your friend request. If the button reads “+1 Add Friend,” the person denied your friendship request.
The only time the button disappears when you have mutual friends with someone, is if you sent them a request before than they denied the request and chose the option to block future requests from you. You’re not blocked completely, but can’t sent them a friend request.
What happens when someone ignores your friend request?
They will not be notified that their friend request was declined, but they will be able to send you another friend request in the future. If you take no action on the request they’ve sent you, they will not be able send you another friend request.
How do you know if someone blocked you on Facebook?
Check Your Friends List. A fast way to see who’s blocked you on Facebook is to check your friends list. Simply put, if the person you suspect has blocked you doesn’t show up in your Facebook friends list, then you’ve been unfriended or blocked. If they do appear in your list, then you’re still friends.
Do friend requests expire?
As you may know, Facebook friend requests accumulate over time but they never expire. This means any requests received remain in your friend requests unless you either accept them or delete them.